Let me learn from where I’ve been.


Not to set off the post off on a sad level but the sun is beginning to set for my time here in San Francisco. It’s been one hell of a quarter so far, I can’t believe that it’s gone by so quickly. I remember walking into the apartment and getting the view of the city at night, speechless. I wanted to make something big of my time here; whether that was making a great book piece, meeting lots of new friends, learning something about myself or my friends – how many other people are given this opportunity?

The first couple of weeks, my roommates and I spent most of our time meeting new people at school and at parties after hours. People here really do enjoy life at another level then what I’m used to back on the east coast, I love it. The seriousness of life is taken at different levels, they know that they need to make something of themselves, but they’re taking it as a progressive trip instead of working for that moment. The people at school work hard, some of the ideas I’ve heard are so simple and so breaking at the same time – just a different mind set on approaching problems. I’m hoping it washes off on me a little bit. I really wish I could go through and write about the people I’ve met, because they’re all incredible but, I also want to pretend to believe that I’ll be getting to bed in the next hour or so.

This quarter’s classes have been a mix of wishy washy work and heavy idea/execution focus. One class, I’m still wondering if it’s even going to give me a line to carry on in my thought process, not probably.. but I still have to keep working in it. Another, I’m finally getting an opportunity to start producing more print ads and I’m excited and want to do them justice, but I also want to start fixing the lines. If you can’t tell, I’ve been a little obsessed with living the fun things out rather then school this quarter. I’m kicking myself for it, really, but It’s more of a love tap. It’s time to change it.

In other words, I guess you could say I’ve been being somewhat of a “free spirit” out here. Yes, I’ve been drinking more then I should be, eating more mexican food than I have my entire life, I may have played around with some substances my high school self would have a heart attack reading about, you guys probably laugh about them. I’m learning a lot about myself here, life really. Some things work, and some don’t – you’ve gotta try them out to see if they will, it’s the only way.

I wouldn’t have been able to take this initial step without my good friends I’ve got here. Danny, Eva, Bryan, Neil, Steve, and Josh.. you guys are the shit and what we’ve got will go down in history. Erica, Kim, Greg, Mag, Marissa, Jen and the rest of you back in New York miss you guys like mad and will see you all soon, I’ll be making my sweet time to get back to the city but I’ll be there in no time.

My family and friends from back home have also been helping get by each day, they’ve got some high hopes for me and keep me feeling like I’m blazing a new trail for them, it’s empowering, but I miss them.

I’m still waiting to hear back about where I’ll be heading next quarter. My friends just found out that they’ll be headed off to China, fucking Beijing! They couldn’t be more excited, and I’m proud of them for having the balls to take that leap, they’ve been helping me break out my “shell” if you want to call it that.

Being an older brother, I never really had people to look up to – my father of course but it’s always different. I looked up more to my younger brother and how he followed what he wanted to whether or not it was the smartest thing to do. Now that I’m the youngest I’m looking up to my friends here to see how they handle the situations they’re presented with. Most of the time I get to learn from their mistakes because they’re not afraid to take a chance, but they surprise me from time to time on their actions and the advice they give.

Anyways, my hopes are still on Paris. I have no idea, whatsoever, how it’s going to work but I want to make that my next challenge. I came to New York City alone, and although it was for school, I survived. Traveled across the country, in a car, with three other creatives.. ingredients for disaster but, we made it. Now it’s time to do it on my own, so I’ve got my fingers crossed, not letting the second option be that, an option.

8695041690_c32ddd7935_h

Be sure to know, you guys will be one of the first to find out.

Alright, maybe I’ll get some sleep tonight.. probably not.

4 thoughts on “Let me learn from where I’ve been.

    • Thanks! I know, I’m hoping to get there one day and I actually have a couple of opportunities I’m waiting to hear on! Wish me luck and have an a great day!

  1. Hi Mike, thanks for following my blog. And now I’m following you too! Not only are you in one of my favorite cities but we almost have the same name! My name means Michael in Italian!! And, of course, Costa is such a cool last name 🙂 Really looking forward to following your journey. You sound like a great guy! Beautiful day to you. Michele

Leave a Reply

